My Housing History by Yu

  home-buyerWhen I first arrived to California I was living in San Diego in the Mira Mesa area with a host family. They were really nice and kind. There were 7 people in the house, it was cheerful. I paid 500$ for the rent, and 200$ for the deposit. It is really good price to live in San Diego.

The things I like are 

  • Host mom cooks everyday and the dish is really tasty.
  • The bus stop is near the house, it takes me 7 minutes to reach the buss stop.
  • Convenient access to grocery shopping and star backs.
  • Rent is really good price.
  • Host family are kind

The things I dislike is 

  • It takes me 2 hour and half to go to school by bus.

My second place Cameo Drive, Oceanside

After I decided to move out, I moved near to MiraCosta College. It is a house, and the owner lets student rent a room. They were 4 student in the house including me. Everyone pay different rent due to the room condition and size. The rent was 650$, and deposit was 700$

The things I like are

  • The house is near the school, it is really convenient to go school, it takes 15 minutes to get school on foot.
  • Roommate were nice. She drove me to buy grocery shopping.

The things I dislike are :

  • The landlord was really strict about rules, which are included house cleaning, regulated cooking method.
  • Landlord comes back once a while to inspect the house. When they comeback, they live in the living room which is annoying. Because they go bet early in the living room, which make student awkward to go get stuff from refrigerator because students have to pass by living room.
  • There is a hill on the way to school, it is tired to climb the hill.
  • Inconvenient to go shopping.

My current place  Rawhide Way, Oceanside

I am living again with a host family. They are elderly couple. It is really beautiful and big house. It takes me 1 hour to get school if I take the bus, but since I got my car, I drive 10 mines to go school. I pay 600$ for rent and 200$ for deposit.

The things I like are

  • I have own bathroom and big bed.
  • Elder couple are really nice
  • I can borrow the swimming pool key and enjoying swimming and Jacuzzi.
  • It is a community and has gate, which is safer.

IMG_8109They are many benefit if you move to new places, but it also takes many process and time to do. I did not like my second house landlord, but I think it was a good experience to spend time at the house. If you are the first semester new student I would recommend to find the place near school. Once you got used to it, you would have more option to decide later on.

 

Leave a comment